Hawks & Saracens name their squads v VoL & Sandbach; Vandals at Hoppers

By January 11, 2019Hawks, Match Previews, Saracens, Vandals

Fylde Hawks will look to build on their fine win against Preston Grasshoppers 2nds before Christmas when they travel to Vale of Lune 2nds. The Hawks are in 4th place in the Cotton Traders Premier League, Vale in 8th. Their squad is:

15 Henry Pearson; 14 Lex Botha, 13 Daniel Jones, 12 Tom Forster, 11 Joe Probert; 10 David William Reed, 9 Adam Lanigan; 1 Tom Fox, 2 Craig Whalley-Hunter, 3 Jonathan James Wild, 4 Mark Capstick, 5 Karl Capstick, 6 Matthew Ashcroft, 7 Seb Smith, 8 Jamie Griffin (c).

16 Jake Foster, 17 Matt Worsnip, 18 Mulenga Chilufya.


The Saracens face a very difficult fixture in Division One when high flying Sandbach 2nds visit the Woodlands (ko 2.15pm). They have lost just once in 12 matches. The Sarries are in 7th place in the 12 team league. A few former 1st teamers will be rubbing liniment in ageing joints and scraping old mud off their boots to take part. Former England Counties, Lancashire, Waterloo, Halifax and Fylde scrum-half Craig Aikman, Lancashire and Fylde lock Roger Banks (these days, Fylde’s Chairman of Rugby) and former Fylde prop and now 1st team manager Nick Smith all start the game.

15 TBC; 14 Christian Williams, 13 Tom Hodgkins, 12 Karl Etherington, 11 Phil H Dearness; 10 Ciaran Johnson, 9 Craig Aikman; 1 Richard Frith, 2 Richard Appleyard, 3 Nicholas Smith, 4 Roger Banks, 5 Jay Harrison (c), 6 Steven Billy James, 7 Adam Hiles, 8 Seve Lakosolomoni.

16 George Cook, 17 Luke Clitheroe, 19- Alex Graham


The Vandals, in 8th place in Division 4 (North) travel to 12th placed Preston Grasshoppers 4ths in Division 4 (North).